Past Winners

2015 – Inbee Park

Inbee Park won her seventh Major Championship, completing the career Grand slam, with a three shot victory at Trump Turnberry GC – closing with a clinical round of 65 to finish at 12 under par.



2014 – Mo Martin

Mo Martin claimed her first Ricoh Women’s British Open in dramatic fashion by making an eagle on the par 5 72nd hole to win by one shot, finishing on one under par.



2013 – Stacy Lewis

Stacy Lewis claimed her first Ricoh Women’s British Open in style by finishing with two closing birdies on the famous 17th and 18th holes at St Andrews to add a round of 72 to her first three rounds of 67, 72, 69. Lewis won by two shots clear from her nearest rivals, Na Yeon Choi and Hee young Park.



2012 – Jiyai Shin

Jiyai Shin finished with rounds of 71-64-71-73 and a 9-stroke lead over Inbee Park, marking the largest margin of victory at the event to capture her 10th career LPGA victory and her 2nd major having won the Ricoh Women’s British Open in 2008



2011 – Yani Tseng

Tseng successfully defended her title, closing with a three under par 69 to win at Carnoustie. The World No. 1 from Taiwan put together rounds of 71, 66, 66 and 69 to finish four shots ahead of Brittany Lang on 12 under par becoming the youngest player, male or female, to win 5 major titles.



2010 – Yani Tseng

Tseng started the final round with a four shot lead over Katherine Hull, before dropping three shots and narrowing the gap, leaving herself with an essential putt on the last to win the championship. She holed the putt and became the youngest ever three-time Major champion.



2009 – Catriona Matthew

Matthews became the first Scottish woman to clinch a major title when she won the championship at Royal Lytham and St Annes. The 39-year-old won by three shots from Karrie Webb after birdies on 13, 14 and 15.



2008 – Jiyai Shin

South Korea’s Ji Yai Shin won the championship by three shots at just 20 years-old after starting the final round one shot behind. A composed performance despite her lack of experience saw her card a flawless six under par 66 for an 18 under par total.



2007 – Lorena Ochoa

Ochoa won the first Womans British Open to be played at St Andrews, winning her first major title by four shots over joint runners up, Jee Young Lee and Maria Hjorth.



2006Sherri Steinhauer

Steinhauer became the second player to win the title for a third time with a three shot margin over Cristie Kerr and Sophie Gustafson.



2005 – Jeong Jang

At Royal Birkdale Korean Jang won the championship by 4 strokes after four sub-70 rounds.



2004Karen Stupples

Stupples equalled Webb’s record by winning the championship with a 19 under par aggregate starting her final round with a remarkable eagle 3, albatross 2 at the first two holes, winning the tournament by 5 shots.



2003 – Annika Sorenstam

Sorenstam the World No.1 secured her first Women’s British Open title by one shot, recording her sixth Major title.



2002 – Karrie Webb

Webb became the first player to win the title three times when she came from three strokes behind to clinch victory with a flawless final round 66 over the Ailsa Course at Turnberry.



2001 – Se Ri Pak

Se Ri Pak came from four strokes behind with a final round of 66 to take the title from her fellow Korean Mi Hyun Kim at Sunningdale.



2000 – Sophie Gustafson

Gustafson started the final round at Royal Birkdale with an eagle taking her into a nine shot lead, before coming back to the field and winning by just two shots.



1999 – Sherri Steinhauer

Steinhauer successfully defended her title in 1999 at the Woburn Golf & Country Club winning by one shot from Annika Sorenstam.



1998 – Sherri Steinhauer

Steinhauer won the championship title at the difficult Royal Lytham & St. Annes by one shot, defying the very strong winds which battered the course throughout the four days.



1997 – Karrie Webb

At Sunningdales Old Course, Webb won her second Womens Open Championship by 8 strokes, beating all previous records in her wake with a winning 19 under par aggregate of 269.



1996 – Emilee Klein

The championship was Klein’s second ever victory, at the age of just 21 years old. Her second round of 66 saw her draw away from the strong international field giving her a five stroke halfway lead. Final rounds of 71 and 72 saw her win comfortably by seven shots.



1995 – Karrie Webb

Webb won the championship in her rookie year when she was relatively unknown, against a very strong field. She won by seven shots with a fourteen under par aggregate of 278.



1994 – Liselotte Neumann

Neumann became the second Swedish player to win the championship, beating fellow countryman Annika Sörenstam by 3 strokes.



1993 – Karen Lunn

Lunn finished with a score of seventeen under par, the lowest score recorded during the seven years the event was played at Woburn. She won by an impressive eight shot margin over Brandie Burton.



1992 – Patty Sheehan

Sheehan had an exceptional 1992, managing to win the US Women’s Open and the Women’s British Open in the same year. She finished 12 under par, with her closing six-under par 67 breaking the long standing course record of 68.



1991 – Penny Grice-Whittaker

Penny was rather a surprise winner, managing to narrowly defeat the defending champion Alfredsson who but up an impressive defense.



1990 – Helen Alfredsson

The first of seven Championships at Woburn was won by Helen Alfredsson after an exciting four hole sudden-death play-off.



1989 – Jane Geddes

Geddes dominated the championship from the first day opening with a five under par 67 to share the lead. Another 67 on the second day put her three strokes ahead and she was never caught, winning by two shots after final rounds of 72 and 68.



1988 – Corinne Dibnah

Dibnah and South Africa’s Sally Little fought for the championship in a “sudden-death” play-off. Corinne hit her eight-iron approach shot to six feet at the second extra hole which set up a birdie and secured Dibnah as the first Australian to win the title.



1987 – Alison Nicholas

Nicholas won the champion played at St. Mellion Golf & Country Club with a courageous pitch and putt on the last hole for a birdie four to edge out defending champion Davies by one shot into a share of second place.



1986 – Laura Davies

In just her second year as a professional Laura Davies, won the Championship played at the Royal Birkdale links. Later the same year she won the U.S. Women’s Open becoming the first player to hold both titles



1985 – Betsy King

King won the Championship played at Moor Park beating the 1982 champion Marta Figueras-Dotti who secured second position.



1984 – Ayako Akamoto

Japanese Okamoto won by a record eleven strokes from a very strong field at Woburn Golf & Country Club.



1982 – Marta Figueras-Dotti

Twenty-four year old Figueras-Dotti from Spain won the title as an Amateur at Royal Birkdale, she turned professional later in the year.



1981 & 1980 – Debbie Massey

Massey won two consecutive championships. The first at Wentworth in 1980 winning by one stroke, and the second at the Northumberland Club.



1979 – Alison Sheard

South African Sheard became the first overseas winner of the Championship, beating Mickey Walker by three shots



1978 – Janet Melville

Melville became the second amateur to be victorious at the championship which was played at Foxhills.



1977 – Vivien Saunders

English Saunders became the first professional to win the championship played at Lindrick.



1976 – Jenny Lee Smith

Lee-Smith won the first Ladies’ British Open which was played at Fulford in Yorkshire whilst she was still an amateur. At the time there were only a handful of British Women professional golfers.

© Ricoh Women's British Open 2017 London W4 5HR T: +44 (0) 20 8233 5300 ricohwomensbritishopen@imgworld.comPowered by OCS Sport